Notes on Sub-Antarctic Bases and Stations

The sub and peri antarctic entries correspond to stations and bases on islands and other territory near antarctica and having similar conditions as those found on antarctica-- as listed in the WAP directory.

These territories are not under the Antarctic Treaty. Countries may claim antarctic territory but no country owns part of antarctica so any country may operate stations or bases anywhere they want as long as they adhere to the Treaty. This is not true for the sub and peri antarctic regions which are owned and controlled by various countries.

Although Gough Island is UK territory the Union of South Africa operates the weather station there so Gough Island is under South Africa in the listings.

Argentina operated a base on the South Sandwich Islands (Corbeta Uruguay Station) although the South Sandwich Islands are UK territory. So this base is included under Argentina in these listings.

Hit RETURN to return to the VE7IG Sub-Antarctic QSL directory page.